South Hobart CC History

A Brief History


The Club participated in the Southern Tasmanian Cricket Association competition based around suburban districts when the former ‘club’ competition was discarded in 1905/1906. The small Wentworth Street Ground, home of the SHDCC until 1974, was managed by a local community group. The Club had the playing services of C. J. Eady and H. Hale, two very prominent players, but did not win a First Grade Premiership until 1915/1916. It did however enjoy success in the lower grades. The Club went into recess along with STCA during World War I and reformed in 1923/1924. In 1929 Ron Morrisby, a junior from Sandford, joined the Club and his emergence as a star batsman coincided with the extensive success in the 1930’s.


The introduction of outer suburban clubs to the TCA competition contributed to the reduction in the playing strength of the Club and it was not until 1958/1959 and 1959/1960 that there was further First Grade success. The lower grades achieved occasional success. In 1974 the Club moved to the Wellesley Park Ground.


Recognising that ‘club cricket’ was the best way for it to improve its’ performance on the field, SHDCC successfully lobbied for inclusion in 1976/1977. A 1st Grade premiership followed in 1979/1980 as a result of strong recruiting by a very active Committee. The Club was in a very sound financial condition, however, this resurgence could not be maintained, principally due to the poor playing surface at Wellesley Park and in 1987/88 the Club merged with Sandy Bay District Cricket Club.